top of page
  • Writer's pictureFernandina Beach Main Street

City of Fernandina Beach and Fernandina Beach Main Street Announce Winners of the 2024 Preservation Awards

The City of Fernandina Beach and Fernandina Beach Main Street proudly announce the winners of the 2024 Preservation Awards. This bi-annual event recognizes the outstanding efforts of individuals and organizations committed to preserving the unique architectural heritage of Fernandina Beach. Historic structures are vital to the community's identity, and careful preservation ensures that future generations can experience the same charm and character that define our city. The award reception was held in the historic Peck Center Auditorium on Wednesday, May 15 th.

Justin Taylor, Director of Sales & Marketing for the Residence Inn by Marriott, opened the

ceremony, welcoming attendees and introducing notable public officials, including Mayor

Bradley Bean, Vice-Mayor David Sturges, and Commissioner Chip Ross.

Lisa Finkelstein, Executive Director of Fernandina Beach Main Street, shared insights into the

importance of preservation in the community, followed by a heartfelt preservation story by

Pastor Granardo Felix of Trinity United Methodist Church.

The efforts of key individuals and committees were recognized, including Kelly Gibson, Director of Planning & Conservation, and the Fernandina Beach Main Street Planning Committee Veronica Byrnes, Lucinda Lautz, Mary Hamburg, and Lori Huppmann, chaired by Christie Walsh Myers. Special thanks were given to the judges: Ruben Acosta, Taco Pope, and Julia Epstein, and to the event sponsors: Residence Inn by Marriott, Miranda Architects, The Heirloom Yard, City of Fernandina Beach, and the Amelia Island – Fernandina Restoration


The awards were presented across several categories, highlighting exceptional projects and individuals:

Restoration/Rehabilitation: Awarded to the interior and exterior home restoration at

322 North 3rd Street. Accepting the award was homeowner and project leader, Tammi


Sensitive Addition: The addition at 28 South 10th Street was recognized with Jose & Lori Miranda of Miranda Architects accepting the award.

New Construction: The award went to the commercial building at 302 Centre Street.

Kristen Biagini and McKenzie Barco from Kristen Biagini Designs accepted the honor on

behalf of the entire project team.

Craftsmanship Award: Presented to Cayleigh Sullivan for the window restoration at

232 South 7th Street.

Preservation Champion, John M. Cotner Award: This prestigious award was given to

the Amelia Island-Fernandina Restoration Foundation in recognition of 50 years of

preservation in the community. President Buddy Jacobs and the Board accepted the


Categories without nominations this year included Adaptive Reuse and Storefront Façade

Renovation. Previous winners in these categories were showcased, and future projects were


7 views0 comments


bottom of page